Honduras immigration requirements travel to Roatan


Typical Fishing Dory, Honduras
traveling to Honduras

Your passport expiration date should be checked before you purchase your tickets. If your passport expires in less than 3 months from the planned travel date, you may be denied entry into the country. The USA offers expedited American passport renewals for an additional fee. Airlines may turn away passengers in their countries of origin, preventing them from departing for Honduras if the passports are too close to the expiration date.

Expited entry is available by checking in with immigration on line in advance. The immigration line for arrivals at the airport is long and time consuming. Check in with immigration prior to arrival.

Visas are automatically granted upon arrival to travelers that do not have legal residency in Honduras unless the traveler's passport is from one of the countries listed below. If your country does appear in the list below, you should apply for a visa with your local Honduras consulate prior to traveling. Most travelers will enter under a tourist / business visa. Diplomats and some people working for international organizations such as the World Bank qualify for other visa types.

Provide the following documentation for presentation to the Honduran consulate if you are required to obtain a visa prior to traveling:

Length of Stay: You may stay in Honduras for up to three months with a tourist visa. A visa may not be extended beyond three months - you must leave Central America for no less than three days. The immigration you complete for entry into the country asks if you have been away from the country for at least 3 days. The Central American countries have formed an immigration union, which means that crossing into a neighboring Central American country no longer fulfils the requirement to leave after the visa expires.

Departure Tax: Foreigners leaving Central America from the airport must pay a departure tax of 39.24 USD. Departing passengers first check in at the airline counter, then pay the departure tax at the LaFise bank inside the airport, and then go to customs to have their passports stamped. Insist that the bank give you correct change. You may notice they round up the exit fee rather than give you correct change. If they do not have US coins, you can have your change in Lempiras. Be sure you check in early, since lines can be quite long just before boarding time. Lines form at all three locations - the airline counter, the bank, and the immigration desk.

The following list may or may not be accurate - please confirm visa requirements with your cruise line or airline prior to purchasing your tickets.

Countries for which Advance Visa Application is Required:

  • Afghanistan Islamic State
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Angola Republic of
  • Armenia
  • Asmara Eritrea
  • Bangladesh Peoples Republic of
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republic of
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi Republic of
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China People's Republic
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Congo Democratic Republic of
  • Cuba
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • East Timor
  • Ecuat Guinea.
  • Egypt Arab Republic of
  • Eritrea State of Asmara
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Indonesia
  • Iran Islamic Republic of
  • Iraq Republic of
  • Ivory Coast
  • Jamahiriya Libyan Arab
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan Hashemite Kingdom of
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea Democratic Peoples Republic of
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Lebanon
  • Lesohto
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia Federal States
  • Moldova Republic of
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco Kingdom of
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria Federal Republic of
  • Oman
  • Pakistan Islamic Republic of
  • Palau
  • Palestinian Authority
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Roanda
  • Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
  • Samoa
  • Senegal
  • Serbia and Montenegro
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone Republic of
  • Somalia Democratic Republic
  • Sri Lanka Democratic Socialist Republic of
  • Sudan Republic of
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania United Republic of
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe